When I Get Ready To Go Out

This is the type of woman I am when it comes to getting ready: last minute; wet hair; no makeup 99% of the time; frustrated.

I always decide last minute that I want to “do” my hair and put on some makeup. But, by the time I decide exactly what I’m going to wear, what hairstyle I want, and what makeup to use I only have 10 minutes to get to where I have to go. So my usual hair is pulled back in a ponytail or bun with the occasional faux hawk poof thing in the front. I want to change that and I have made some progress.

I am a huge fan of YouTube and it’s my go-to for almost everything. Someone, somewhere has already done what I want to do or learn and they are happy to share. I’ve learned quick makeup tips, easy wet-hair dos and approximate times for certain hairstyles.

Earlier today I came across a video of a girl defending herself against people (mostly girls) who ask her why she wears so much makeup. Blah blah blah, she went on and said that those people are people who don’t even wear makeup or have any experience with it. I came to the conclusion that she, like I’ve done a couple of times lately, wore makeup one day, looked stunning and gorgeous, and got so many nice compliments and loved them so much that she ended up valuing herself based on her appearance (I haven’t done that … Well makeup wise). Now, some people don’t even know what she really looks like- sad if you ask me.

I don’t want to be someone like her, or the many other girls who wear makeup every day or “too much”. Those girls seem to claim that they are not doing it for anyone but themselves. I think they seek perfection, flawlessness, and approval. I watched another girl on the same topic and she said it’s an art, and that it’s fun and colorful like girls should be (I’ll leave this thought simmer a bit longer). Regardless of how nice, pretty, and sexy I feel when I follow makeup tutorials to the “T” I also want to feel natural- even if it means that my olive skin is glowing in all its glory. I don’t want to make makeup my routine, but I will take all the knowledge I can get.

I don’t want to offend anyone who does do makeup everyday as one of my sisters does (one of the others always has mascara and eyeliner and the other is a blank canvas). How do you feel about makeup?

20120107-015133.jpg
^thats me all natural and whatnot.

20120107-015249.jpg
^thats me with makeup and some lashes :). You can still tell its me, right?

Leave a comment