What happened to me?

I met with my trainer last earlier this week and I had an episode of weakness. I have no clue what brought it on; maybe it was the perfectionist in me or the person inside of me that never wants to fail or look weak. Regardless of the reason I’m glad it happened.

Here is what happened. When I arrived he let me know that we weren’t boxing but doing something different. Ok, no problem. Toward the end I was feeling exhausted and getting frustrated for not keeping up. He obviously noticed and asked what was wrong. With a knot in my throat I told him that I can be and do better than I am now.

I hope I’m not putting too much pressure on myself. He assured me I was one of his few clients that he can really count on doing great throughout his workouts and that he wishes more of his people were as tough as me. Those words made me happy. And as I wiped the tears with my shirt sleeve I told him he better not be lying to me.

Does everyone go through a moment of total vulnerability sometimes?

Leave a Reply

