Commitment Issues

I didn’t commit to my July Challenge and sadly it didn’t surprise me. I am predictable even to myself. There is no excuse for me not to have stuck to it. Distractions or not, I should come first to myself and I’m taking the steps to do that. I can’t be available to everyone before I am available to myself. Now I have to say that out loud and mean it.

I almost feel as if I shouldn’t write what I am about to because I’ll feel guilty if I don’t do it. “It” is starting to ride my bike at least two times a week. Next year marks the 5th Anniversary of the Tour De Dreams which a really dear friend of mine is part of the organizing committee for this year and I would love to join her for the ride next August. The tour’s goal is to travel from UC Berkley to UCLA to raise funds for scholarships for undocumented students. It’s an amazing cause and raises awareness to many issues people tend to have a blind eye towards.

With that said, the application process is pretty intense. There are limited slots for riders and  being the 5th anniversary my daily mileage has to be “up there”. I was told that some of the more experienced riders are doing about 50mi a day. A DAY! I’ll start small and build up, but I believe it would be a great accomplishment and show great discipline if I do this- for the cause and for me.

Since my blogs haven’t had any pictures lately, enjoy this one of my niece sleeping:

One thought on “Commitment Issues

  1. Pingback: Doing Things My Way and At My Own Pace | Losing Monica

Leave a Reply

